Make your own free website on

Tescott High School 55th alumni meeting

A nice crowd gathered in the old gym of Tescott High School on Saturday evening, May 29, for the 55th annual meeting of the alumni group. Nearly 200 guests registered with 136 being THS graduates. Special guests were Althea Crawford Rice, Salina, and Dale Berthelson, Tescott, who were celebrating 75 years since their graduation in 1929. Lottie Wojnowski, Gladys Wilson, Tescott and Adeline Christenson, Beverly, were present from the class of 1934 celebrating 70 years. Keith Scidmore of Colorado was present from the class of 1930, Opal Batcheller, Minneapolis from the class of 1932, and Cleo McClure, Tescott, from the class of 1933. All were celebrating seventy plus years since graduation. The classes of 1954, 1964, 1974, 1979, and 1984 all held special get-togethers during the weekend and were well represented at the meeting.

General Lee's Catering, Liz Lee and her staff, served a delicious meal. The invocation was given by Harold Horting who also received a gift for having perfect attendance at all meetings dating back to 1949. Many gifts were awarded and 15 door prizes were given away. It was voted to donate $100 to the scholarship fund as well as $100 to the showcase fund and also $50 to after prom 2005.

Rachel Koster was the only member of the 15 member graduating class of 2004 present due to the State Track Meet. She received the traditional big cookie baked and donated by Marilyn McClure.

The Tescott High School cheerleaders performed as well as Berkley Matthews, a talented young singer from Salina.

The Tescott Community awarded $3550 in scholarships this spring including the alumni scholarship of $150 each to Brandon Church and Shawna Fuller. A new scholarship awarded was the Gilbert W. "Gib" Robinson memorial scholarship of $300 which was awarded to Tim Bremerman. Mr Robinson's son, Steve and his wife, Vicki, Salina, were special guests.

Arliene Matthews received the Sherlock Holmes award for continued service to the Tescott community and 12 couples, all married more than fifty years were honored with energizer bunny awards. The number of years ranged from 51 to 66 with Keith and Irene Scidmore of Colorado, being married the longest.

It was reported that the new showcase project is moving ahead and with donations made Saturday night, $3350 of the needed $5240 has been raised. The new cases should be installed by September 1.

Marilyn Diehl Flohrschutz, Class of 1956, agreed to serve as President again for 2005.